United Kingdom

1991 European Energy Charter

  • signed on 17 December 1991


1994 Energy Charter Treaty (ECT) and Protocol on Energy Efficiency and Related Environmental Aspects (PEEREA)

  • signed on 17 December 1994
  • ratified on 13 December 1996
  • deposited on 16 December 1997
  • entered into force on 16 April 1998
  • Letter of 29 September 2023 informing about the United Kingdom's exercise of its right under Article 17 to deny advantages of Part III of the ECT to (i) any legal entity owned or controlled by citizens or nationals of the Russian Federation without substantial business activities in the Area of the Contracting Party in which it is organised, as well as to (ii) Investments of Investors of the Russian Federation who are included in the UK Sanctions List

1998 Amendment to the Trade related provisions of the Energy Charter Treaty

  • ratified on 13 July 2001
  • deposited on 21 December 2001
  • entered into force on 21 January 2010 as part of the European Union
  • notice of ratification as UK deposited on 30 December 2020
  • since 1 January 2021 provisional application until entry into force (ninetieth day after deposit of instrument of ratification)

2015 International Energy Charter

  • signed on 20 May 2015

Enquiry Point (Article 20.3 of the Energy Charter Treaty). Last updated on 18/05/2023.

  • General Enquiries
  • Mr Tom Bastin
  • Tel.: +44 (0)300 068 5463
  • E-mail: tom.bastin@beis.gov.uk
  • Department of Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
  • 1 Victoria Street
  • London SW1H 0ET
  • URL: www.gov.uk/beis

Public legal databases

https://www.bailii.org/databases.html#uk (in English)


Application to territories (Article 40 of the Energy Charter Treaty)

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northen Ireland applies the Energy Charter Treaty to The Isle of Man, The Bailiwick of Jersey and the Bailiwick of Guernsey